TCKDating

Third Culture Kid Dating; adults who have spent their developmental years outside their parent's culture

Challenge accepted

Leave a comment

As I mentioned in my previous post, I fractured my ankle over the weekend playing football.  I’ve been told by the doctors that I need to wear a boot cast at all times, keep my foot elevated, and spend as much time as possible resting on a couch or bed ie. don’t leave the house at all for several weeks.  So for those of you who read my earlier posts about how I am incredibly restless. Well, this restless feeling doesn’t stop at just having a niggling feeling of wanting to move to new cities and discover new places and meet new people (as a result of being a TCK). That feeling of restlessness is accentuated when I am faced with obstacles like this one that stop me from being productive.

So this fractured ankle and rest I have to do for the next 3-6 weeks, well, needless to say, I’m seriously struggling.  I’m one of those people, who if I’ve watched two episodes of The Good Wife, I feel like I should get up and do something. Read the news.  Finish up some work for my Masters.  Do some work on my business. Catch up with friends. Go workout.  Get stuff done.

A person once asked me why I constantly felt I needed to be productive and where the motivation came from to keep working and at the time I wasn’t quite sure what the answer was. After thinking about it though, I realized that the reason for my need to be productive and get things done is that I’m doing it to achieve my bigger goals in life: staying fit and healthy, making a difference for people with the business I am working on, learning every day and building strong and lasting relationships.  And to reach those goals, it means I need to work towards them. And this means spending some minutes every day going on a run or doing a circuit class. It means meeting friends for dinner, giving them a call when they’ve had a rough day. It means connecting with like-minded entrepreneurs at start-up events. It means reading practical books on how others have managed to build a successful company. It means successfully completing my Master’s so that I can move on to other things.

This fractured ankle has forced me to stop. To pause. And to wait. It’s funny how sometimes things are completely out of your control.  After watching The 3 A’s of Awesome Ted Talk by Neil Pasricha, it dawned on me that when something like this happens to you, any small event that creates an obstacle in your path and slightly changes your plans for several weeks or months, it’s the attitude you have with regards to it that affects you and your happiness.

For example, I can choose to be absolutely miserable about the situation that I’ve found myself in. I can mope around my flat. Think back about how I could have avoided the tackle. Sit around and feel awful. Or I can realize that in comparison to so many other things in life (just watching the news and seeing the conflicts happening in other parts of the world), a fractured ankle is really nothing in comparison!  There are so many worse things that can happen. And sometimes it surprises me how we can get really bogged down in the small things rather than looking at the bigger picture. But maybe that’s just a human thing. Instead, I have decided to change my attitude, listen to Neil Pasricha, and use this time wisely. I’m going to find ways to be productive without having the use of both legs for the next couple of weeks in my flat.  I’m taking it as a challenge. And I’m ready to make this time count.

Leave a Reply

