TCKDating

Third Culture Kid Dating; adults who have spent their developmental years outside their parent's culture

Stop running TCK. Build, Learn, Create.

Leave a comment

Life Coaching.  I had laughed at the concept when I had heard it first from a friend (as you read in my last post).  I thought it was all about giving people advice, telling people what to do.  Should anyone be so arrogant to think that they should be giving life advice in that way. And more importantly, I thought coaching was about helping people who were too lazy to do it on their own, fight, work harder, make it work.  It turns out I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Coaching is about never giving advice.  How does it help the person you coach? Well, it’s all about asking that person questions. And active listening.  The people who wanted coaching were not lazy or a lost cause!  They were often incredibly motivated and driven people who had reached a point where they needed help to reach their next goal or dream. So for example a person who wanted to complete a challenging work project more quickly.  Or a person who was spending 70 hours at work a week that they could not find the time to work out and stay healthy.  Or someone who was starting a small business and wanted to launch 2 months sooner and learn how to be even more productive.

The coaching training I went through consisted of a very methodical model called the GROW model.  You can find out more on The Coaching Academy’s.  Basically a person comes to you with an issue or a goal they want to reach. Through the model, you ask them questions to determine a measurable and specific goal. You then move on to find out where they are currently in terms of that goal, what they have done up until now to reach that goal and what their current obstacles are.  Through more questions, they find options of how they can reach that goal.  Finally, through more questions, you uncover their first step in their action plan in reaching that goal.

I had found a way to help people.  And through the training, I had also learned how to reach my own goals more quickly.  I learned that it was not enough to have dreams. You need an action plan for each dream. I know, I know, it sounds so methodical.  But trust me, it works.  Without a concise list of  steps to reach a goal, it will remain a dream.  Through concrete and tangible mini-steps forward, you can make your dream a reality.  In my next post, I will explain how I changed one of my dreams into an action plan.  Without running away.  By building, learning and creating.

Leave a Reply

